Skip to main content

Library Services and Resources Available: Intro

Guide prepared to help faculty understand what is available via the library for them and their students

LibGuide Search

Introduction to Library Resources for Faculty

The Nicolet College Library has many services and resources available for all members of the Nicolet College community, including Nicolet College faculty and staff. 

The library's website is the starting point to find and access most of the library's services and resources. The library's website is also where you will find hours posted, and the library's chat service and other contact information, which includes a text number. Chat and text is generally staffed whenever the library is open, and are available to anyone from either on or off campus. 

The website is also the launchpad for many guides. We have created guides for most programs, some frequently offered classes, and other topics of interest, as well as guides for evaluating information, plagiarism and citation, and library resources. The most frequently used guides are in a quick links box to the left of most pages on the library's website, while some other, less frequently used guides can be found in the  Guide List drop down, also to the left side of most pages.

Also available on the library's website is the opportunity to provide feedback, including a form to suggest resources. We welcome suggestions, and while we cannot promise to purchase/subscribe to everything, we do promise that we seriously consider all suggestions.

Most physical library resources do not incur overdue fines; the items that do are interlibrary loans and reserve items. Lost, damaged and non-returned items are billed a replacement fee. 

The library offers many services at no cost or charge. Most of these services can be arranged simply by filling out a form available on the website, or by calling, e-mailing or chatting with us. These are some services that Nicolet College staff and faculty will find most helpful:

Library Instruction: 

Library team members can come to your classroom to talk to your students about the research process, discuss library resources, demonstrate a database, talk about evaluating information/plagiarism/citation/academic honesty, or talk about any library related topic, or address a specific informational need for your class. Library instruction can be easily arranged by phone, e-mail, chat, or via a form on the library's website. 

We understand that circumstances may make it difficult to have library staff visit your class, but you may still wish your students to benefit from library instruction. Nicolet College Library subscribes to Instruct modules for this purpose. These online modules can be assigned or recommended, and completed by students at any time. The modules can be found here. Please let library staff know if you have any questions or concerns about this resource. 

Research Consultations: 

Any member of the Nicolet College community can arrange to meet one on one with a library team member for personal research assistance, citation help, or a demonstration of a specific database or other library resource. 

Roving Reference/On Demand Reference: 

A library team member will come to your classroom or building before, during, or after your class or during class time to answer questions or be available for immediate research assistance.

Tours: 

Please visit us in our native habitat! We are happy to welcome groups or classes in the library, and discuss hours, resources, services, etc. Small tours can be impromptu during open hours, but if scheduled ahead of time, we can be sure to have talking points prepared and have parting gifts available.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL): 

While the library offers many resources in a variety of formats on a wide range of topics, there are occasionally things that we don't have here. We will look for those items at other libraries. Most of the time, we are able to successfully receive requested items. While the ILL service itself is offered at no cost, past due ILL items do incur overdue fines. The process of ILL is explalined and forms to request items and articles can be found here: http://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/ILL

Reserves: 

The library can make items available specifically for your students, either for use exclusively in the library or for very specific, often limited, loan periods. To put items on reserve, simply contact the library with information about you, your class, and what loan period you would like for the items, and then deliver the items to the library. 

The Nicolet College Library has thousands of media resources available for use by the Nicolet College community. In addition to the physical resources in the library, you can find images, music, and video in the databases listed below. As always, please contact the Nicolet College Library with any questions, concerns, access issues, or feedback regarding any of these resources:

Images: 

Find images in these databases: 

Though these databases make images available for use, images must still be used ethically. Please remember to cite images appropriately.

Music: 

Music is available from this database: 

Video: 

The Nicolet College Library offers access to several resources for educational, documentary, and feature films. Find films in these databases:

The Nicolet College Library has thousands of books available for use by the Nicolet College community. In addition to the physical resources in the library, you can find ebooks in the databases listed below. As always, please contact the Nicolet College Library with any questions, concerns, access issues, or feedback regarding any of these resources:

The Nicolet College Library has millions of articles available for use by the Nicolet College community. In addition to the physical resources in the library, you can find articles in many of the databases listed in our eResources list. 

The vast majority of the article databases available at Nicolet College Library are Ebsco databses. The databases listed here are and the instruction sheet below will address finding and using Ebsco databases.

We do have a handful of article databases that are not Ebsco products. The good news is that most article databases will work very, very similarly to Ebsco. What is called a "folder" in Ebsco may be called "my research" in another database, and there will be other variations in vocabulary and layout, but for the most part, once you learn one database, that knowledge will apply to most others.

Also available at the Nicolet College Library is Flipster. Flipster is a magazine browsing database. While articles will be available using Flipster, Flipster is not searchable at the article level. 

We also have newspaper databases available. Please contact the library for assistance using these databases.

As always, please contact the Nicolet College Library with any questions, concerns, access issues, or feedback regarding any of these resources:


GENERAL/MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES: 

 


SPECIALIZED SUBJECT DATABASES:  (In alpha order)

The Nicolet College Library has thousands of reference and research starter resources available for use by the Nicolet College community. In addition to the physical resources in the library, you can find resources in the databases listed below.

Instruction guides are available below for research starter and general reference databases. Please contact the library for more information or assistance in using the more specialized databases.

As always, please contact the Nicolet College Library with any questions, concerns, access issues, or feedback regarding any of these resources:

Research Starters: 

General Reference: 

Specialized Reference and Research Assistants:

Wisconsin Resources:


 

The Nicolet College Library has guides available on a variety of topics to assist staff, faculty and students with information about the library, the resources and services available, and about library/information related topics, such as citation, evaluating information, plagiarism. 

There are also program/class/and subject specific guides available to assist faculty, staff, and students navigate the resources available for that area.

As always, please contact the Nicolet College Library with any questions, concerns, access issues, or feedback regarding any of these resources:


Program Guides: 

These are guides created specifically to help users quickly identify resources for specific programs, common classes, and specific areas of study. These guides can be found here:

https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/ProgramGuides/Intro


Research Guides: 

These are guides to assist users with aspects of the research process, such as evaluating information and plagiarism and citation help.

Evaluating Information: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/GoodSources/WhatToLookFor

Plagiarism and Citation Help: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/AvoidingPlagiarism

Copyright & Fair Use: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/CopyrightFairUse


How-to Help: 

Off Campus Access Issues: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/accesshowto


Library Information: 

These guides will help users understand what the library is, how to find/contact the library, what is available, and how to provide feedback about the library.

About the Library: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/about

What is Available at the Library (Includes ILL): https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/WhatWeHave

Give Feedback: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/feedback

Reserve Rooms or Library Staff, and Find Out About Events in the Library: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/Reservations

Find Past Presentations: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/PastPresentations

Loading ...

Contact Us

Text us: 715.953.2160


Main Phone #: 715.365.4479

Location:

  • 3rd floor of the Lakeside Center


Library Hours

Library Hours Summer 2019 (Beginning May 20)

Open Close
Monday 8:00 AM 4:00 PM
Tuesday 8:00 AM 4:00 PM
Wednesday 8:00 AM 4:00 PM
Thursday 8:00 AM 4:00 PM
Friday 8:00 AM 4:00 PM
Saturday CLOSED CLOSED
Sunday CLOSED CLOSED
Library Closings/Reduced Services - Summer 2019
Thursday, July 4 - Friday, July 5 CLOSED
Monday, September 2 CLOSED