Skip to main content

What we have and how to get it: Journals, Magazines & Databases

Guides and Pages Search

About Journals, Magazines & Databases at Nicolet College Library

Nicolet College Library offers access to about 80 databases, containing thousands of magazine and journal titles and millions of articles! Anyone can access these databases on campus, and students, staff and faculty can access them off-campus as well.

We also offer several dozen journals and magazines in print. These can be found on the second floor of the Lakeside Center near the information commons. Journals and magazines can be checked out!

Flipster is an online magazine database! We subscribe to dozens of awesome magazines covering many, many different topics, interests and hobbies, and even some magazines for youth. Be sure to check this one out!

Is This Specific Journal in a Database?

Sometimes, you know an article exists and you know what magazine or journal it is in, and you know you want to read it. But where do you go to find it? 

We have something that we call A Full Text Journal Finder. This tool will tell you what databases have that journal and if it is available in full text so you can download the article right away. 

If you can't find the article you need, you can request it at no cost to you using interlibrary loan (ILL). Fill in the article request form, and we will let you know when we receive the article. 

Please contact us if you have any questions! We are happy to help you. 

Find Articles

If you are doing a research paper or project, you will likely need to find articles about your topic.

A long time ago, this was accomplished by spending many, many hours physically present in a library with many large, heavy, index books in which you looked up your general topic and it gave you magazine titles, volume, issue and page numbers. You then had to physically track down said magazines to find articles that may or may not be really relevant to what your paper was about. It was a very long, arduous and frustrating process. It often often involved tears.

Fortunately, times have changed and now, we have things called databases in which we can find articles. Millions of them! Nicolet College Library subscribes to about 80 databases, which allow us to access to thousands of journals with millions of articles on a huge range of topics. 

The databases do a lot of the hard work for you. They take the place of the large, heavy index books AND they very frequently take the place of looking for the print magazines as well. You can search for your topic and combine keywords so the articles are more likely to be relevant, and as an added bonus, usually give you a PDF of the article right there! 

Students, staff and faculty members of Nicolet College enjoy access to the databases we subscribe to from on or off campus. Use the link below to see the full list of databases available.

If you have questions about which databases would be best for your topic, how to use the databases, how to expand or narrow your topic to improve your results, how to access the articles you find, how to find citation information, or really, any other question about using articles in your research paper, please ask us! We are here to help you.

Your question is not an interruption to our work, it IS our work!

More About Finding Articles

The first thing listed in our A-Z list of databases is something we call A FindIt. This is a search tool that will search many (but not all) of our databases and our online catalog as well. This may sound great! And it is. This can be a great starting point for a research project. 

Sometimes, though, the person new to research will be overwhelmed with the results, and will sometimes not really understand what the results are. Also, it is not overly easy to fine-tune your search in A FindIt.

Therefore, we also encourage our experienced researchers to NOT STOP with A FindIt, and for our new researchers, to possibly not start there, either. Below is a list of some databases that are great general databases to use get started or continue your research: 

Once in Academic Search Premier, you can add other EBSCO databases by clicking on the "choose databases" link above the search box. There are databases on MANY different topics. Usually, it is pretty clear what the focus of the database is by the title or by hovering over the notes icon after the title, but if you are unsure of which will be most useful, we're happy to help you choose. You can also choose them all by clicking on the "select all" option at the top.

Using Articles for Research

Articles can be great resources for very current and up to date information. However, when doing a research project, it is important to be sure that you are using articles that are appropriate for this purpose.

What should you look for:

Your instructor may tell you that you should look for scholarly/academic/peer reviewed articles in your paper. This means that you are looking for articles written by experts in the field and that were reviewed by other experts in the field prior to publication. There are several characteristics that are typical of a scholarly article:

  • They are usually fairly long. They are typically at least five pages long, and can be as long as 20 or more.
  • They usually don't have many pictures. Instead, they have charts and graphs.
  • They often are about research conducted in the field, or about literature available in an area of study.
  • The article is often divided into sections that follow the research process, such as introduction, literature review, methodology, findings, etc.
  • There should be a list of references at the end of the article.
  • Though there is often only one author, it is more common that there are multiple authors.

When evaluating a source, you should also consider the topic. Many topics are considered non-fiction, but the scientific community generally does not consider them valid at this point in time (like cryptozoology, aliens, ghosts, reincarnation, magic, etc., or anti-vaxxing, climate change denial, etc.) If your paper is about a topic like one of these, you should talk to your instructor first before going any further in the research process.

If you are satisfied with your topic and you have found articles that you want to consider further, the next things you should look at are: 

Currency: How old is the source? Have there been recent discoveries in this field since it was published? In scientific fields like medicine, technology, and engineering, you would probably not want a book older than 5 years if you are looking for current information.

Reliability: Can you tell if research was done in the production of this source? If research was done, is the research still valid or has it been discredited since the source's publication? Who produced this source?  If the source was self-published, no vetting process may have taken place. If it was published by media company, look up that company to find out about their reputation in academics and find out about their vetting process if you can. 

Authorship: Who is created this source? What are the creator's credentials? If you can't tell who created the source, be skeptical about using it as a source. Look up the creator before using the source to see what kind of expertise they have in the field.

Purpose: Why was the source created? Is this an informational source, or was it written to inflame emotions or to sell a product? If the source was created for any purpose other than to inform, be skeptical about using it.

Contact Us

Text us: (715) 953-2160


Main Phone #: 715.365.4479

Mailing Address:

  • 5364 College Dr.
  • Rhinelander, WI 54501

Location:

  • The library is located on the 3rd floor of the Lakeside Center.
  • Library services are available on the 3rd floor in the library AND at the 2nd floor Information Commons.

Library Hours

Library Hours Fall 2017
  Open Close
Monday
8:00 AM 7:00 PM
Tuesday 8:00 AM 7:00 PM
Wednesday 8:00 AM 7:00 PM
Thursday 8:00 AM 7:00 PM
Friday 8:00 AM 4:00 PM
Saturday CLOSED CLOSED
Sunday Noon 6:00 PM
Library Closings/Reduced Services - Fall 2017
All Staff Conference, Tuesday, October 3 Closed
Thanksgiving, Thursday - Friday, November 23 - 24 Closed
Winter Holiday, Sunday - Tuesday December 24 - 26 Closed
Holiday Week, December 27 - 29 Hours 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
New Years, Sunday - Tuesday, December 31-January 2, 2018 Closed