Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to: Logging into Databases From Off-Campus: Home

Guidance for how to log into the Nicolet College databases from off-campus

Off Campus Login

On campus: If you are on campus, the following does not apply. Just go to any database you chose and you should have instant access.

Off campus: When you access a database from off-campus, you will first be taken to a white/gray screen with two boxes. This login page requires a USERNAME and PASSWORD. 

Your USERNAME* will be the first part of your Nicolet e-mail without @nicoletcollege.edu as demonstrated below.

ncraven@nicoletcollege.edu

Your PASSWORD is the same that you enter to check your Nicolet College e-mail.


*If that username doesn't work, try your whole Nicolet College e-mail address. There may be some rare instances in which the full e-mail address is required.


GO TO DATABASES

Off Campus Access Issues

Try these steps if you have trouble accessing databases from off campus: 

  • If you are off campus, your link may need to have a proxy prefix. If you can see the address to the link, look at the beginning of the address to see if it starts with: http://proxy.nicoletcollege.edu/login?url=  If it doesn't start with that, try putting http://proxy.nicoletcollege.edu/login?url= directly in front of link address. When you click on the complete link, you may then see a login screen requiring the first part of your Nicolet e-mail and associated password.
  • If you are accessing a database via a link in Blackboard or Brightspace, try COPYING the link and then pasting it into the address bar of the browser.
  • Check caps lock and number lock.
  • Make sure you are using the correct username and password.
  • Make sure all popup blockers are off/popups are allowed.
  • Try a different browser. Most databases work well with Chrome or Firefox.
  • Clear browser history. It is a good practice to clear it multiple times.
  • Restart your computer.

For more assistance, check out the Database Access: Troubleshooting guide by the Alfred R. Neumann Library at the University of Houston - Clear Lake.  

Contact Us


Main Phone #: 715.365.4479

Location: 3rd floor of the Lakeside Center

Library Hours (Fall 2021)

Library Hours  

CHAT ASSISTANCE Open Closed
Monday - Friday 8:30 AM 4:00 PM
PHYSICAL LOCATION     
Monday - Friday 8:30 AM 4:00 PM
Upcoming Library Closings/Reduced Services
Friday, Dec. 24 CLOSED
Monday, Dec. 27 CLOSED
Tuesday, Dec. 28 Reduced Hours
Wednesday, Dec. 29 Reduced Hours
Thursday, Dec. 30 CLOSED
Friday, Dec. 31 CLOSED
Wednesday, Mar. 9 CLOSED
Monday, May 30 CLOSED
Monday, July 4 CLOSED