User Guide: Intro

The library offers many services at no charge. As always, please contact the library with any questions, concerns, or feedback.

Library Instruction:

Library team members can visit classes to discuss the research process or AI, demonstrate a database, address a specific informational need, or any library-related topic. 

InfoLit Modules (fka Instruct) is an asynchronous resource available when live instruction isn't an option. These modules are accessible at any time.

Research Consultations:

A library team member will meet individually with any member of the Nicolet College community for personal research assistance.

Roving Reference/On Demand Reference:

A library team member will come to a designated location at specific times to provide research/reference assistance to support a class or assignment.

Tours: 

We welcome groups or classes in the library to answer questions and talk about resources, services, etc. When tours are pre-arranged, we will have talking points and parting gifts available; however, small impromptu tours during open hours are also warmly received.

Any of the above services can be arranged online here, or using any standard contact method.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL):

We will try to find item(s) at other libraries that are not part of the wealth of resources available in the Nicolet College Library collection. Most requested items are successfully received. Find more information here.

Reserves: 

Use this form to request an item(s) be made available to specific groups to use exclusively in the library or for limited loan periods.

The Nicolet College Library offers access to thousands of media items in the databases listed below, or as physical resources in the library. All media must be used ethically and cited appropriately. As always, please contact the Nicolet College Library with any questions, concerns, access issues, or feedback.

Images:

Feature Films, Educational, or Documentary Videos:

GENERAL/MULTIDISCIPLINARY VIDEO DATABASES: 

SPECIALIZED SUBJECT VIDEO DATABASES:  (In alpha order)

The Nicolet College Library offers access to tens of thousands of books in the databases listed below, or as physical resources in the library. As always, please contact the Nicolet College Library with any questions, concerns, access issues, or feedback.

GENERAL/MULTIDISCIPLINARY EBOOK DATABASES: 

SPECIALIZED SUBJECT EBOOK DATABASES:  (In alpha order)

The Nicolet College Library offers access to millions of articles using the databases listed below or in the Databases list. 

The majority of article databases available at Nicolet College Library are Ebsco or ProQuest databases, though we do have a small number of others. The good news is that most article databases work very similarly; once you learn one database, that knowledge will apply to most others. Find instruction sheets for Ebsco and ProQuest below.

The Nicolet College Library offers Overdrive Magazines for browsing. Although articles are available, these magazines are not searchable at the article level.

Several newspaper databases are also available.

As always, please contact the Nicolet College Library with any questions, concerns, access issues, or feedback.

GENERAL/MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES: 

SPECIALIZED SUBJECT DATABASES:  (In alpha order)

The Nicolet College Library offers thousands of reference and research starter resources in the databases listed below, or as physical resources in the library. 

Find instruction guides below for research starter and general reference databases. Please contact the library for additional information or assistance with more specialized databases.

As always, please contact the Nicolet College Library with any questions, concerns, access issues, or feedback.

Research Starters:

General Reference: 

Specialized Reference and Research Assistants:

Wisconsin Resources:

The Nicolet College Library offers access to research, writing, and other skill building tools. Find these listed below or in the Databases list. As always, please contact the Nicolet College Library with any questions, concerns, access issues, or feedback.

Find guides on the Nicolet College Library website on a variety of topics to assist the Nicolet College community discover relevant resources. As always, please contact the Nicolet College Library with any questions, concerns, access issues, or feedback.

Program Guides: 

Find guides created specifically to help users quickly identify resources for specific programs, common classes, and specific areas of study: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/ProgramGuides/Intro

Research Process Guides: 

Evaluating Information: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/GoodSources/WhatToLookFor

Plagiarism and Citation Help: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/AvoidingPlagiarism

AI: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/AvoidingPlagiarism/AI

Copyright & Fair Use: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/CopyrightFairUse

Library Information: 

About the Library: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/about

What is Available at the Library and ILL: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/WhatWeHave

Give Feedback: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/feedback

Reserve Rooms or Library Staff, and Events in the Library: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/Reservations

Find Past Presentations: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/PastPresentations

How-to Help: 

Troubleshoot Access Issues: https://nicoletcollege.libguides.com/accesshowto

Find tutorials on the Nicolet College Library website about information literacy topics and using databases. As always, please contact the Nicolet College Library with any questions, concerns, access issues, or feedback.