Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

What we have and how to get it: Periodicals & Databases

About Journals, Magazines & Databases

The approximately 80 databases available via the Nicolet College Library can be accessed by anyone from the Nicolet College campus. Nicolet students, staff, and faculty can also access these databases from off campus as well.

The Flipster magazine database offers dozens of magazines on a wide range of subjects.

Is This Specific Journal in a Database?

You have citation information for an article you need. How do you get the actual article? 

In most cases, you can find out if the journal is available either in print or via a database by searching for the journal in our library resources catalog. If it is in a database, you will learn which one, and in most cases, be able to link there. 

If we don't have access to the article, you can request it with the ILL request form at no cost to you. We will let you know when we receive the article. 

Please contact us if you have any questions! We are happy to help you.

Announcement: Print Journals/Magazines

Due to the COVID-19 health emergency, print journals and magazines will not be available for browsing or circulation until further notice. Many subscriptions have been canceled for now, perhaps permanently, and most others are not being sent to us until some future time to be determined. Please let us know of any titles you request to be restarted when the time is right.

Find Articles

You will likely need to find articles for your research project.

A long time ago, this was accomplished by spending many hours physically present in a library with large, heavy, index books in which you looked up your general topic to find a list of magazine titles with volume, issue and page numbers. You then had to physically track down said magazines to find articles that may or may not be really relevant. It was a very long, arduous, and frustrating process. It often involved tears.

Fortunately, times have changed and now, we use databases to find articles. Databases take the place of the large, heavy index books. You can search for your topic and combine keywords so the articles are more likely to be relevant, and there is usually a PDF of the article right there! 

Nicolet College Library subscribes to about 80 databases, which allow access to thousands of journals with millions of articles on a huge range of topics. Students, staff and faculty of Nicolet College enjoy access to these databases from on or off campus.

If you have questions about which databases would be best for your topic, how to use them, or any question about how to find or use articles in your research project, please ask us! We are here to help you. 

Your question is not an interruption to our work, it IS our work!

More About Finding Articles

Below are some good general databases to use get started or continue your research: 

What to Look For in Articles

Articles can be great resources for very current and up to date information. However, when doing a research paper/project, it is important to be sure that you are using articles that are appropriate for this purpose. 

Your instructor may tell you that you should use scholarly/academic/peer reviewed articles. This means that you are looking for articles written by experts in the field and reviewed by other experts in the field prior to publication. There are several characteristics typical of a scholarly article:

  • They are typically at least five (5) pages long, and could be more than twenty (20).
  • They have charts and graphs rather than photos.
  • They often are about a research study (experiment), or a review of literature available about a specific topic.
  • The article is often divided into sections that follow the research process, such as introduction, literature review, methodology, findings, etc.
  • There should be a list of credible-appearing references at the end of the article. 
  • Articles with multiple authors are much more common than articles with only one author.
  • The language of the article should be neutral/objective and reflect the language used in the field. The language used in the article should not provoke emotional reactions. 
  • The author(s) should have credentials that give them expertise in the field/discipline. Often their affiliation, usually with colleges or universities, research hospitals, or research institutions, is clearly stated.

More About Evaluating Resources

Follow this link to learn more about what should you look for to find good sources.

Contact Us

  • Text: 715.953.2160
  • E-mail 
  • Lakeside Center, 3rd floor 

More contact the library

Library Hours (Fall 2021)

Library Hours  

CHAT ASSISTANCE Open Closed
Monday - Friday 8:30 AM 4:00 PM
PHYSICAL LOCATION     
Monday - Friday 8:30 AM 4:00 PM
Upcoming Library Closings/Reduced Services
Friday, June 24 8:30-11:00 AM
Monday, July 4 CLOSED
Friday, July 22 CLOSED
Monday, Sept. 5 CLOSED
Thursday, Nov. 24 CLOSED
Friday, Nov. 25 CLOSED
Dec. 26-30 CLOSED
Monday, Jan. 2 CLOSED
Monday, May 29 CLOSED
Tuesday, July 4 CLOSED